The world is formed by 6 continents. The Continents of the World are Africa, America, Antarctica, Asia, Europe and Oceania. The term continent is used to differentiate between the various large areas of the earth into which the land surface is divided. So, a continent is “a large, continuous area of land on Earth”.

All continents together constitute less than one-third of the earth’s surface, that means more than two-thirds of the earth’s surface are covered with water. Two-thirds of the continental land mass is located in the Northern Hemisphere.